

EXTRAORDINARY PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 2126, CUTTACK, MONDAY, JUNE 27, 2022 / ASADHA 06, 1944

WATER RESOURCES DEPARTMENT

NOTIFICATION

The 27th June, 2022

No. 15733—WR-MAJI-POLICY-0001-2022/WR.— In exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (1) of Section 11 of the Dam Safety Act, 2021, the State Government hereby constitutes the State Committee on Dam Safety with the following members which shall come into force on the date of its publication in the Odisha Gazette, namely:—

(1)	Engineer-in-Chief, Water Resources, Govt. of Odisha;	Chairperson, <i>ex officio</i>
(2)	Chief Engineer, Dam Safety, Bhubaneswar	Member Secretary, ex officio
(3)	Chief Engineer, Designs, Bhubaneswar	Member, <i>ex officio</i>
(4)	Chief Engineer, Planning, Bhubaneswar	Member, <i>ex officio</i>
(5)	Representative of the Geological Survey of India, Bhubaneswar, not below the rank of Chief Engineer	Member, <i>ex officio</i>
(6)	Representative of the ORSAC, Bhubaneswar, not below the rank of Chief Engineer	Member, <i>ex officio</i>
(7)	Representative of the OSDMA, Bhubaneswar, not below the rank of Chief Engineer	Member, <i>ex officio</i>
(8)	Representative of the Water Resources Department, Govt. of Chhattisgarh, in the rank of Chief Engineer,	Member, <i>ex officio</i>
(9)	Representative of the Water Resources Department, Govt. of Andhra Pradesh, in the rank of Chief Engineer,	Member, <i>ex officio</i>
(10)	One representative of Central Water Commission not below the rank of Director,	Member, <i>ex officio</i>
(11)	One expert in the field of Hydrology/dam designs from engineering institute	Member, <i>ex officio</i>

(12)	One expert in the field of Hydrology/ dam designs from engineering institute	Member, <i>ex officio</i>
(13)	One expert in the field of Hydrology/ dam designs from engineering institute	Member, <i>ex officio</i>
(14)	One representative of the Central Electricity Authority not below the rank of Director ,	Member, <i>ex officio</i>

2. The State Committee, in discharge of its functions, shall be assisted by such subcommittees as it may consider necessary, and the secretarial assistance to the State Committee as well as its sub-committees shall be provided by the State Dam Safety Organisation under sub-section (2) of Section 12 of the Act.2. The State Committee shall discharge such functions as specified in the Third Schedule as may be necessary to prevent dam failure related disasters under this Act as per guidelines, standards and other directions on dam safety issued by the National Dam Safety Authority under sub-section (1) of Section 12 of the Act.

3. (i) The State Committee shall meet at such times and places and shall observe such rules of procedure in regard to the transaction of business at its meetings as may be prescribed by the State Government under sub-section (1) of Section 13 of the Act:

Provided that the State Committee shall meet twice in a year and one meeting shall be held before the onset of the monsoon season.

(ii) The State Committee may invite the representative of the owner of any specified dam and such other experts in Dam Safety as it may consider appropriate, for the discharge of its functions under sub-section (2) of Section 13 of the Act. The State Committee may invite Chief Engineer, HH, GIS & Climate Change, Bhubaneswar & Chief Engineer, Mechanical, Bhubaneswar as special invitee as and when necessary.

(iii) The expenditure incurred on the meetings of the State Committee shall be in the manner as may be prescribed by the State Government under sub-section (3) of Section 13 of the Act.

(iv) The specialist members and other expert invitees who attend the meetings of the State Committee or its sub-committees shall be paid such fees and allowances as may be prescribed by the State Government under sub-section (4) of Section 13 of the Act.

4. The above composition of State Committee on Dam safety shall be in force for three years from the date of this notification and thereafter the committee shall be re-constituted under sub-section (2) of Section 11 of the Act.

By Order of the Governor ANU GARG

Additional Chief Secretary to Government

Printed and Published by the Director, Printing, Stationery and Publication, Odisha, Cuttack-10 OGP/SBP Ex.Gaz.1496-183+50